Skip to content

The End Is Coming! When? Does It Matter?

May 20, 2011

Of late, there’s been a lot of talk over the internet about the end of this world, as least as we know it.  I won’t give any credit to the person who has claimed this, but neither will I discredit him.  I don’t believe the world will end May 21st, but I maybe wrong.  I had to ask myself though; will it make a difference at all of what and who I am today?  No it won’t is the only answer I can come up with. Why? Because whatever happens to me or this world,  is in God’s hands and I trust Him completely.

We as Christians have been told to look for certain signs, but then; there’s been signs over a long period of time; exactly what signs are we looking for?  Many thought that Hitler was the Anti-Christ and that doesn’t seem to be the case up to this point.

This is one reason why I don’t believe Jesus is coming back particularly on the day Saturday, May 21st 2011;  The Word says  that Jesus will come back like a thief in the night.

For yourselves know perfectly that the day of the Lord so cometh as a thief in the night.  1 Thessalonians 5:2

But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night; in the which the heavens shall pass away with a great noise, and the elements shall melt with fervent heat, the earth also and the works that are therein shall be burned up.  2 Peter 3:10

Now if the Lord is going to come like a thief in the night, then like a thief, he’s going to come when everyone least expects it.   That’s the whole point of “coming like a thief in the night”; the advantage of surprise.

Now what if someone like say; Billy Graham; or maybe the pope, got up and said that the world was going to end on a particular date; sure, a lot of people would believe it because it came from such a reliable source.  Maybe this preacher;  Harold Camping is a  reliable source.  As my understanding, this is not the first time he has made a prediction about the end of the world; which means he was wrong before.

Still, I must base my feelings about the matter and my beliefs on what the Word tells me.  Either way it’s not going to matter; being a Christian means I shouldn’t have to worry;  God is  in control.

I will tell you this; those who go to great lengths to prepare themselves for the day of His coming, by stocking up water and food and guns and all kinds of survival equipment; will find that none of it will matter in the end.  What really is the thing that brings fear to so many people’s heart when they think about the end of the world is they no longer have control.  Some people feel that if they stockpile supplies, they’ll some way survive where others will die.  What they really should be doing is stockpiling some prayers and some praise up to Heaven where it really does matter, instead of worrying about what’s going to happen to them here.

I have no idea how the end of this world will be nor do I have any idea when it’ll get here.  All I know is that I must always be ready by staying in tuned with God in my life;  always realizing that He has me in the palm of His Hand and He won’t let anything happen to me that I can’t handle.  He is my Father; He loves me, and He will always take care of me.

We need to release our fears into God’s hands. When you feel afraid about anything; about the future; about death; anything at all; simply hand it to God and say out loud; “God Is In Control”.  Now if you’re still afraid after this, then you need to pray and get closer to God because one thing God does not want you to do and that is to be afraid.

You should fear nothing in life but God Himself.  And the fear you should have of God should be of His wrath upon the wicked.  A child of God; covered by the blood of the Lamb; Jesus Christ,  no longer faces the wrath of God because Jesus himself took on the wrath of God when he died on that cross; paying the price for all of our sins.

So if you’re afraid of the end of the world; get right with God and you won’t be any longer.  If you’re still afraid; keep praying and seeking God because you’re not there yet.   Cast fear away with faith.  Building your faith will take you in the opposite direction from fear.  When we have fear; we have the exact opposite of faith.  I’ve seen a great deal of fear in the Church world;  even among Evangelicals.  There is so much fear going around.  Fear is the tool of the Devil.  Satan makes it his business to figure out exactly what your fears are and he will use them against you.   That’s why it’s important not to confess your fears but your faith instead.

I have a picture in my head of Jesus, asleep in the bottom of a fishing boat as a storm tossed the boat around so much that the other men on board; the Lord’s disciples,  became very afraid that they were going to die.  They woke Jesus from a sound sleep.  He quickly rebuked the winds and the sea calmed, and he complained of their lack of faith.

The point I wanted to make here was about Jesus being asleep in the bottom of that boat during such a storm.   The reason he was able to sleep so soundly was that in his very heart and soul, he knew he had nothing to fear; his Father in Heaven had His hand upon him and if He even dashed His foot against a stone,  then thousand angels would come to take charge of him.  Jesus completely trusted his Father; he had total faith in Him.  This was the example that he left for us; to have faith in God; to love God and one another and to have faith in God.  That was Jesus’ simple message; so simple that even a child could understand it.

So the next time you hear about someone predicting the end of the world, it doesn’t matter if you think they’re right or not, just realize that it really doesn’t matter if you’re a child of God.  Just put your faith in Him enough to believe that with patience and endurance, we will overcome everything, and we have nothing to fear because: God Is In Control.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

